Mood: Patient

18 Mar

First, an AWESOME video showing every Kanye West sample ever.

THE NATIONAL

I love the National. I was first hooked on them when I heard “Fake Empire,” specifically by the line “we are half asleep in a fake empire.” What a killer line!! It’s poetry, I tell ya.

…I know nothing about poetry.

But anyways, ever since then, I’ve been a big fan. But it’s not just their tendency for musical poetry but also the sound of Matt Berninger’s voice. It has the ability to take us to a different place; that gruffy, gravelly, deep voice transports me to a place where men are men and the world is a hard knock place where we have to fight. A world where patience is necessary for survival.

mp3: Think You Can Wait [The National]

“Think You Can Wait” is the theme song for a new movie called “Win Win” starring good actor/everyman Paul Giamatti:

DAMIAN MARLEY AND NAS

I’m a sucker for genre destroying albums by two musically powerful entities. However, not all these collaboration albums meet up to their hype. Damian Marley (youngest son of Bob) and Nas’s collaboration however does meet expectations – big ones, as they are both powerfully talented artists on their own. Damian is not only the son of a legend by a 3 time Grammy Award winner. Nasty Nas is, well, Nas. You know.

mp3: Paticnce [Damian Marley and Nas]

ARCADE FIRE

THERE ARE SO MANY OF THEM, HOW DO THEY PAY THEM ALL? Oh …. that’s a mirror.

mp3: We Used to Wait [Arcade Fire]

NU SHOOZ

Released in 1986, “I Can’t Wait” by Nu Shooz’s American chart run coincided with that of a Stevie Nicks song also titled “I Can’t Wait” (a rare incidence of two different songs with the same title charting at the same time). Interesting fact from Wikipedia.

mp3: I can’t wait [Nu Shooz]

Why did those extra large, baggy silk blazers go out of style again??

One Response to “Mood: Patient”

  1. nowhearthischicago May 29, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    HA! ooh I’ll bet that pissed off Stevie Nicks. That’s a pretty crazy coincidence. I love the Kanye link that you posted – hilarious 🙂

    I’m a little new to WordPress – I just created a blog where people can post their favorite old songs/forgotten songs/b-sides, etc. I’m calling it “The Best Music You’ve Never Heard.” Stop by and check it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

