Mood: Magical

2 Mar

Jessie J

The good news about Jessie J is that she can really belt it out. It seems like she is trying to become the bad-ass version of Katy Perry, in terms of image. And I’m okay with that since Katy Perry’s screechy voice makes me want to blow up fireworks in my head. Seriously. Will they please stop playing that godawful song, the actual sound of fireworks is more aurally appealing. Jessie J, on the other hand, has some serious vocal chops. The songs on her debut album “Who Are You” are mostly pop fluff but they are not too bad to listen to since her voice is so powerful. Hopefully her next album will contain the level of songs her voice deserves.

mp3: Abracadabra [Jessie J]

The Sound of Arrows

This is the second song I’ve heard from this Australian group. Nova is a better song but the MV is a little strange. Is it weird to say I love their style but I have yet to find a song of theirs that I love?

mp3: M.A.G.I.C. [The Sound of Arrows]

“Nova”

Patrick Wolf

Patrick Wolf: A Fine Frenzy’s long lost twin brother?

The Magic Position is a song Patrick Wolf did back in 2007 (unbelievably 4 years ago now). Sounds like the beginning of a kid’s television show and it is just pure happy indie gold.

mp3: The Magic Position [Patrick Wolf]

2 Responses to “Mood: Magical”

  1. msg4michael March 3, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Love, Love, Love The Sound Of Arrows. I predict great things in their future.

    • Emily Park March 3, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Agreed. “Nova” turned me onto them and I never turned back!

Leave a Reply

