Mood: Jaundiced

3 Aug

I love colors. I love them in saturation, I love them in desaturation. And with the advent of “hipster” culture, I like them in the neon. I used to be one of those kids in school who were obsessed with her colored pencils. I liked to line them up ROYGBIV in cascading hues.

The short stubby pencil of the pile? Usually it was black (because of all the outlining) and one of my favorites: yellow! It’s so bright and sunny, it added a little pop to all my elementary school scrawling.

1. The Faint

Album: Fasciinatiion
Label: blank.wav
Release: August 5, 2008

I have yet to hear the whole album but I anticipate a very fun album. Check out “Take Me To the Hospital”!

mp3: Take Me to the Hospital [The Faint]

mp3: The Geeks Were Right (Does It Offend You Yeah? Remix) [The Faint]

The Faint Tour Dates

August
1 Vancouver, BC – Commodore Ballroom
2 Seattle, WA – The Showbox
3 Portland, OR – Crystal Ballroom
4 San Francisco, CA – The Fillmore
5 San Francisco, CA – The Grand Ballroom

6 Pomona, CA- The Glasshouse
7 Los Angeles, CA – Henry Fonda Theatre
8 Los Angeles, CA – Henry Fonda Theatre
9 San Diego, CA – SOMA
11 Austin, TX – La Zona Rosa
12 Dallas, TX – Palladium Ballroom
14 Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse
15 Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
16 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club
17 Philadelphia, PA – Trocadero
18 New York City, NY – Terminal 5
20 Worcester, MA – The Palladium
21 Toronto, ONT – Opera House
22 Chicago, IL – Vic Theatre
23 Omaha, NE – Sokol Auditorium

website / myspace

2. John Henry & the Engine


mp3: Under the Yellow Moon [John Henry & The Engine]

website / myspace

3. Feral Children

Seattle based band Feral Children (no, it’s not a band that consists of Liam Neeson and Jodie Foster as interesting as that would be) are in the “experimental rock” genre, or as I like to call it “weird music.” While it’s a far cry from my usual aural fare, I love the belly deep drumming in the background of “Jaundice Giraffe.” I also like that they wrote a song about a giraffe.

mp3: Jaundice Giraffe [Feral Children]

You can buy their album “Second to the Last Frontier” here.

Read an interview of the Feral Children here.

myspace

4. Coldplay

I know I’ve posted this previously, but I have never-ending love for this song. Coldplay has a real talent for making songs that capture the feeling of bittersweet melancholy.

mp3: Yellow [Coldplay]


VIVA LA VIDA on Jimmy Kimmel Live (6-4-08) – Hands down my favorite song on the new album! Haven’t gotten sick of it yet.

website

5. Big Yellow Taxi

Joni Mitchell wrote “Big Yellow Taxi” back in the 1970 and since then many, many artists have covered this happy tune about tree killing/paradise destroying, including Amy Grant, Melanie (Melanie Safka), Counting Crows with and without Vanessa Carlton, Sandi Thom, Kaya, Pinhead Gunpowder, Paul Tillotson, Moya Brennan, Keb Mo, Chris Thomas King, Keren Ann, the acappella quintet Toxic Audio, and Bob Dylan.

First verse:

They paved paradise and put up a parkin’ lot
With a pink hotel, a boutique, and a swingin’ hot spot
Don’t it always seem to go
That you don’t know what you got till it’s gone
They paved paradise and put up a parkin’ lot.”

Mitchell told this to journalist Alan McDougall about the origins of the song:

“I wrote ‘Big Yellow Taxi’ on my first trip to Hawaii. I took a taxi to the hotel and when I woke up the next morning, I threw back the curtains and saw these beautiful green mountains in the distance. Then, I looked down and there was a parking lot as far as the eye could see, and it broke my heart… this blight on paradise. That’s when I sat down and wrote the song.”

More about the song on Wikipedia.

mp3: Big Yellow Taxi [Joni Mitchell]

mp3: Big Yellow Taxi [Amy Grant]

MV: Big Yellow Taxi [Counting Crows ft. Vanessa Carlton]

Leave a Reply

