Mood: Head Bopping Til You Barf

10 Apr

1. Santogold

Santogold aka Santi White is a Wesleyan educated punk rocking electronica singer who chills with M.I.A. But I don’t need to tell you this. Just listen.

mp3: L.E.S. Artistes (xxxchange remix) [Santogold] – download worthy!


Official MV for “L.E.S. Artistes”

website / myspace

2. Britney Spears

Yum, fake cheese.

mp3: Break the ice (danced killed and moved) [Britney Spears] via disco dust

3. Yelle

Yelle is a portmanteau (new word learned, nice!) of Yeah and Elle. She’s Frenchie and I’m a total francophile so here she is.

mp3: A Cause Des Garcons [Yelle]


MV for “JE VEUX TE VOIR”

AND she’s hitting the US! Cool beans.

Apr 24 2008 8:00P
Independent San Fransisco
Apr 26 2008 8:00P
Coachella festival Indio
Apr 29 2008 8:00P
Mansion Chicago
Apr 30 2008 8:00P
The Great Hall Toronto
May 2 2008 8:00P
Club Soda Montreal
May 3 2008 8:00P
Highline Ballroom New York City

website / myspace

4. Mariah Carey

MC’s newest album “E=MC2” is dropping like a hahhht pocket straight out of the microwave on April 15th. Her single “Touch My Body” (subtle subliminal message, Mariah) is already out and of course the DJs are going at it like starving piegons on a discarded muffin.

mp3: Touch My Body (Seamus Haji Dance Mix) [Mariah Carey]

Speaking of Mariah Carey, check out this cover of “Fantasy” by Final Fantasy. This song always makes me want to grab my hairbrush and start karaoking into the bathroom mirror.

mp3: Fantasy (Mariah Carey cover) [Final Fantasy]

5. Katy Perry

I like this “Hot N Cold” song.

mp3: Hot N Cold [Katy Perry]

I like the whistling in “Ur So Gay.” However, to be completely honest, I don’t adore the lyrics: “I hope you hang yourself with your H&M scarf.” I love my H&M scarf. 😦 I hear a girl with a good voice and vibe trying to ride the coat-tails of another angry girl singer, Lily Allen, with a little hipster thrown in (American Apparel wardrobe and Ray Bans). I’m not trying to hate on her. In fact, I think the song is catchy…. but I guess it’s like eating french fries. You’ve eaten french fries before, they’re still good but your palate is not about to spaz into a fit of epileptic excitement. Aka: I like it, but I don’t love it. P.S., I feel like she is trying a little too hard.

mp3: Ur So Gay (Cory Enemy and Skeet remix) [Katy Perry] via hypeful

website / myspace

One Response to “Mood: Head Bopping Til You Barf”

  1. Mimi April 11, 2008 at 2:29 am #

    i love owen pallett. his string arrangements are beautiful.
    http://www.blogotheque.net/article.php3?id_article=3470

Leave a Reply

